NORTHUMBERLAND COUNTY COUNCIL

At an extraordinary meeting of the **Northumberland County Council** held on Wednesday 22 March 2023 at County Hall, Morpeth at 4.31pm.

PRESENT

Councillor B. Flux (Business Chair) in the Chair

MEMBERS

Ball, C. Mather, M. Bawn, D. Morphet, N. Nisbet, K. Beynon, J. Bowman, L. Oliver, N. Carr. D. Parry, K. Pattison, W. Cartie, E. Castle, G. Ploszaj, W. Cessford, T. Reid, J. Renner-Thompson, G. Chicken, E. Clark, T.

Clark, T. Richardson, M. Riddle, J.R. Robinson, M. Robinson, M. Darwin, L. Sanderson, H.G.H. Dickinson, S. Seymour, C. Sharp, A.

Ezhilchelvan, P.

Gallacher, B.

Grimshaw, L.

Hardy, C.R.

Hill, G.

Simpson, E.

Stewart, G.

Swinbank, M.

Swinburn, M.

Taylor, C.

Hill, G.
Horncastle, C.
Humphrey, C.
Hunter, I.E.
Hutchinson, J.I.

Taylor, C.
Thorne, T.N.
Waddell, H.
Wallace, A.
Watson, J.

Lang, J.A.

Jones, V. Wearmouth, R.W. Kennedy, D. Wilczek, R.

OFFICERS

Binjal, S. (remote) Monitoring Officer

Hadfield, K. Democratic and Electoral Services

Manager

Hunter, P. Interim Senior Service Director Kingham, A. Executive Director – Children and

Young People

Masson, N. Deputy Monitoring Officer

O'Neill, G. Executive Director for Public Health,

Inequalities & Stronger

Communities

Roll, J. Head of Democratic and Electoral

Services

Rose, J. Interim Executive Director of

Regeneration

Willis, J. (remote) Executive Director for Resources &

Transformation (S151)

96. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillors Bridgett, Dodd, Dunn, Fairless-Aitken, Ferguson, Foster, Lee, Murphy, Purvis, Scott, Towns and A. Watson.

97. REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Honorary Freemen and Freewomen

Council was asked to consider conferring the title of Honorary Freeman/Freewoman of the County of Northumberland on the persons listed.

The report's recommendations were moved by the Leader and seconded by Councillor Dickinson. He fully supported the proposals.

Councillor Hill commented that she did not know most of the people involved, but felt that the general public would wonder why the Council was spending its time debating this matter. She would abstain from voting on it.

Councillor Dickinson disagreed, adding that members had all worked with the nominees. There had been many other outstanding people across the County who could have been chosen for the final three. The Freedom was a special recognition which rewarded people for their jobs, community efforts and contribution to Northumberland who had gone over and above what was required. It was an honour, and members should welcome these applications and he hoped to see more in the future. The scope should be widened to really recognise those who provided a contribution to Northumberland.

The Leader felt it was essential for the Council to be able to thank people in a small way for what they did for the County and he fully supported the scheme.

On the recommendations being put to the vote, the votes were cast as follows:- FOR: a substantial majority; AGAINST: 0; ABSTENTIONS: 2. It was therefore **RESOLVED**

- (i) To confer the title of Honorary Freeman/Freewoman on the following:
- (a) Tony Gates, Chief Executive of Northumberland National Park, for services to Northumberland National Park;
- (b) Winton Keenen QPM, Chief Constable of Northumbria Police (retires March 2023) for services to policing in Northumberland;

- (c) Elizabeth Morgan, former Executive Director of Public Health, for services to Public Health particularly during the covid pandemic; and
- (ii) To acknowledge and confirm provisions of section (33) of the Local Government (Structural Changes) (Transitional Arrangements) (No.2) Regulations 2008: Honorary Freemen/ Freewomen, whereby a person who, before the reorganisation date, had been admitted as an Honorary Freeman or Freewoman of a local government area that was abolished by a section 7 Order (an 'abolished area') shall on that date be treated as having been admitted as an Honorary Freeman or Freewoman of the single tier Council.

98. REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen

This report was withdrawn.

| Chair of the County Council | |
|-----------------------------|--|
| Duly Authorised Officer | |